June 25, 2019

Special Education at OQS

In our three elementary schools, special education services are provided in a variety of ways.  Services in the elementary schools may be delivered more frequently, knowing intense early intervention has better outcomes for students.  The service delivery model is always based on individual student need, but the following are typical options.


Regular Education Classes
Special educators co-teach, support or provide direct instruction within the regular education class.  This can occur in a small group or 1:1, based on needs.

Resource Room - Pull out services for direct specialized instruction in a basic skill area
Special educators provide specialized instruction based on the student’s needs as outlined in their IEP.
This can occur in a small group model or 1:1, based on individual student need.

Para-professional Support (small group) within the student’s regular education class, providing either support with academics, behavior, or both.

Para-professional Support (1:1) for students with more significant academic and/  or behavioral needs


Related Services

(Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech/Language Therapy)


Small Group model
The related service provider works with the student providing direct therapy within a small group based on the students’ needs outlined in the IEPs.  This occurs either in a general education classroom or in the related service providers’ rooms

1:1 Model
In this model, the related service provider works with the student in a 1:1 setting providing specialized therapy based on the student’s need outlined in their IEP.  This occurs either in a general education classroom or in the related service providers’ rooms.

Consultation model
In this model, the related service provider works with the student’s team and provides strategies and instruction to the staff members so they can implement the support, instruction, and strategies directly to the student.

Contact Information

oqs logo

Main Number
802-295-8654

Special Educators

Lori Beland x6138
beland@hartfordschools.net

Erica Lafond x6138
lafonde@hartfordschools.net

Christy Edgren x6108
edgrenc@hartfordschools.net

Cynthia Kussius x6108
kussiusc@hartfordschools.net

Staci McDougall x6108
mcdougalls@hartfordschools.net

Speech Language Pathology Department

Jill Lorenz
lorenzj@hartfordschools.net

Occupational Therapy Department

Aimee Marshall
marshalla@hartfordschools.net

Physical Therapy Department

Beth Pastor
pastorb@hartfordschools.net